Carnival Fun.

Standard

The year was 2005 and I was running the Maintenance department for a private school in St.Paul. Every spring they had a carnival put on by the school and run by the kids. This was always a very fun event and it was in my eyes necessary that the Maintenance department be very much involved. I had a rather new employee working for me at the time a 22 year old young man named Matt. Matt was a very motivated, smart, fun and a bit naive young man with a big heart, I am happy to say he and I are still friends today. This carnival like most had booths that you could do various things at. So as Matt and I were walking around looking at all they had to offer we noticed there was a “Colored hair spray booth” we decide this would be a good place for us to start having some fun. Matt decides he will go first. Matt does not have hair and he shaves his head so any color he chose would stand out. Matt sits down and tells the little girl he would like Blue on his head the little girl agrees and hands Matt the towel to cover his face. Matt bows his head, covers his face. I take the blue can of hair spray out of the little girls hand and replace it with florescent pink! He looks up, catches his reflection in the window ask whispers “you are a dick!” to me. I barely heard    him through mine and the children’s laughter. He demanded I have my hair painted yellow and to be a good sport I agreed. I have very dark hair and when done you couldn’t even see any yellow. Next we moved onto the face painting booth. Matt demanded I go first this time in order for him to be able to keep an eye on me and I agreed, I had them paint a hammer on my cheek. Matt sits down and asked for a saw, but what Matt didn’t know is earlier when he turned around to look at some of the other booths I told the girl doing the face paintings “no matter what he asks for, you paint a rainbow on his cheek!” She did!!! So now he has a pink head and a rainbow on his cheek. Matt also when embarrassed his face would turn bright red… awesome!!!! About an hour later our boss Randy comes down from the upper school to check things out sees Matt and begins to shake his head and laugh. We begin to talk about some things we need to do to begin prepping for the spring season, he looks at me and asked ” did you guys take the winter air out of the tires on the tractor?” I looked at Matt and asked “did you?” ( I knew right away where Randy was going with this) Matt looking confused says “no??” ” How do I know if it is winter air?” Randy proceeded to tell him he needed to go purchase a summer air gauge to ensure he was putting in summer air. Matt hesitantly turns around gets in the truck and heads to the hardware store. Randy and I laughing over ourselves are calling the hardware store to be sure they have some fun with this as well. Matt returns about a half hour later with… see below.

Image

They sold him a digital tire gauge!!! Awesome!!! I will keep this tire gauge for the rest of my life! I see it and immediately see Matt with his florescent pink head, rainbow cheek, embarrassing blushing cheeks walking into the store asking for a summer air gauge. 🙂 I know Matt will read this and laugh. Remember when the most important part of your day was screwing over your friends. 🙂 -J

Leave a Reply

