Uncle Update & Donate.

Standard

This past weekend, when we saw Uncle Robert, he was still responsive. He even sat up on his bed, and walked to the bathroom all by himself like a trooper that he has always been! I did find it very hard seeing him the way he was, and couldn’t help thinking, really– it took them this long to find out that he has cancer in his blood. Makes me upset, and it makes our family upset too.The simple fact that my Uncle went to hospital on weekly basis to get rid of fluids his body accumulated due to his kidney issue he was having. He was on waiting list for years, I mean, YEARS- over 5 years, for a new kidney. Still, I cannot help wondering, why did it take them so long to find out that he has cancer in his blood?  When they found out he had that, my Uncle was given two weeks to live. You can image the utter shock when my family found this out. He was given hope years ago, he was hanging onto it that he would eventually get a new kidney. No luck, as soon they found out he had cancer, he was taken off the list immediately. I cannot help but feel that Missouri does not have a good health care. Yes I’m upset. We are fortunate to live in Minnesota, we have excellent medical teams throughout the State, and have wonderful health care.

Monday night, my Uncle Robert was in so much pain. He couldn’t keep down any fluids & food, he was feeling starved. He was unable to get rid of his waste. That makes me wonder if anyone from the Nurse/Hospital encouraged him to drink prune juice? I remember when my Grandpa Eugene was dying, I remember that he drank prune juice. It really helps. Heck, I have even used it with Jaiden when he was struggling at one time.

Tuesday morning, he became unresponsive. 😦 On Tuesday evening, April 17th, he passed away. My cousin Whitney sent me a text to say “He’s gone” 😦 The world stood still, it literally frozen, my heartbeat skipped a beat- I started sobbing. I’m upset. I’m very sad. I’m also happy that he’s not suffering anymore, and not in pain, yet, this is a man we all loved very much and I miss him so much!

Image

This is a good time to ask all of you to consider adding “D” to your Driver License (or Identification Card)– to donate your body parts when you pass away. The day I passed my driving test, and went into DMV to fill out paperwork for my driver license, I added “D” to donate. I am happy to know that when I pass away, I’ve given others a chance to live their life with any body parts. Lets join, add D to your DL/ID, and give life! 
Thank you all for the love, thoughts and prayers. Hugs. -M

Leave a comment